This is my sort of film. It’s a lot of fun and a lot of tongue-in- cheek. There’s also a lot of action and good quality swearing. It’s based on the comic books of the same name, which I knew nothing of before seeing the film, but someone might have read them before, that also happens to be reading this….

Colin Firth plays the good guy, Sam L Jackson (yep it’s him again) is the bad guy and Eggsy (yes, I have written the lead character’s name correctly) is the new boy on the block. Eggsy finds himself tangled up with the Kingsmen, a spy organisation. That’s all you really need to know.

There’s so much I liked about this movie that I could just recite the lot and leave nothing to the imagination for you and you wouldn’t have to go and see it for yourself. But go and see it. You would walk away with a smile….

Colin Firth has the sexy older man thing going on – he’s not usually one of my top 5 but he would make the list after this. He’s so debonaire and suave, a bit like James Bond really. I digress from my point which is that we have rarely, if ever, seen Colin go in for some serious violence but in this, he does. Finally lets out the rage and then fixes his tie afterwards. Did he feel better after the church massacre scene? Colin Firth could be the man to take over from Liam Neeson in the ‘Taken’ series….

There’s a lot of role reversal going on in the casting of this. Sam, usually so cool but he’s the nerdy billionaire with the secret cave versus Colin who mans up and shows us what he’s got (as discussed above). Sam scared me, he was that much of a geek.

Eggsy is a cheeky little devil. This was a bit close to home as he reminded me of my nephew. Before my sister has a heart attack, my nephew is 16 and not in the same environment that Eggsy grows up in, nor has he been seduced by a world of espionage, yet. But the actor who plays Eggsy, could be what said nephew looks like in about 6 years or so. Just a thought….

I have a thing about pugs at the moment and one turned up in this film. And it was a puppy that wouldn’t do as it was told. Could it be any cuter?

There was a scene where there was a clipboard with a TV remote control (my terminology – possibly wasn’t a remote control but it was affecting the screen) being passed between three characters. The one in the middle was clearly miffed that it was being passed around as it was his toy. Once again, art depicting real life and remote controls being the thing to play for to get control.

Finally Mark Strong was the Scottish tech wizard, but it took me a while to figure out he was Scottish as he went for the soft option, possibly Edinburgh Scottish rather than Glasgow Scottish. When I do my Scottish accent, it’s very clear from the start that that’s what I am up to, so I don’t quite understand why it took a few scenes with Mark to understand that he was Scottish? Possibly a bit of kilt action would have helped? I like a man in a kilt….hmmmm.